Onion Harvest

Onion Harvest

I planted onions around February, if I remember correctly. I’ve been using a few of them as green onions (though I try to resist and let most of them really grow to maturity) and a few have “walked away” (one of those things that happens in front yard gardens.) Of the survivors, the tops are starting to fall over, so I went ahead and harvested some today. I am not sure exactly what to do with them now. Do I wash them off? Cut off the tops? Keep them in the dark? I was talking with Erik Knutzen (of the great homegrown evolution blog) and he said that when harvesting garlic, you don’t want to cut off the top, because if you do, then the bulbs want to sprout right away. Any advice from folks? What’s the best way to handle these beauties?

(written in late July)

